Home Remedies For Celiac Disease

01

Celiac-Diseas-Treatment

A celiac disease diagnosis will turn a patient’s dietary world upside down. They will need to eliminate the consumption of any food or drink that contains wheat, barley, rye, and in some cases, oats. The process can be rather frustrating, but luckily, there are home remedies for celiac disease that can help make the transition easier, such as :

Ginger
1. Ginger :
Use pickled ginger to tap into the therapeutic benefits that the root delivers an inflamed intestinal tract associated with celiac disease.

Paprika
2. Paprika :
It is said that you can add paprika to your dishes as a way to combat the symptoms of celiac disease.

Yogurt
3. Yogurt :
Ingredients found in yogurt can encourage the healing process of the digestive system.

Chamomile Tea
4. Chamomile Tea :
Drink four cups of chamomile tea to encourage healing of the digestive tract, as well as strengthen the immune system.

Spice-Check
4. Spice Check :
When cooking, it is important to make sure you are using pure spices and not seasonings that contain gluten additives, such as some taco sauces.

Chew-Your-Food
5. Chew Your Food :
Chewing your food thoroughly before swallowing is a good way to avoid complications from your celiac disease symptoms. This is because the nutrients that your body requires will absorb more efficiently into your system.

Eat-Fish
6. Eat Fish :
The omega-3 fatty acids found in fish oils can help lessen inflammation of the intestinal lining.

Avoid-Cows-Milk
7. Avoid Cow’s Milk :
After a diagnosis and the start of treatment for celiac disease, you may have to refrain from drinking milk from a cow (and foods containing cow milk) until your intestine has recovered.

Grains-and-Starches
8. Switch Your Grains and Starches :
When following a gluten-free diet, you need to become familiar with acceptable grains and starches, such as amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, cornmeal, pure corn tortillas, rice, and tapioca.

Discover-Quinoa
9. Discover Quinoa :
For centuries, quinoa has been grown and used as a food by people living in the Andes region of South America. Celiac disease patients are apt to gravitate to quinoa when looking for acceptable foods to eat in their restricted diet. Quinoa offers a nutritious grain that is higher in protein, fiber, calcium and iron than most cereals. The flavor of quinoa is often described as possessing a nutty taste that is comparable to wild rice.

10. Sweeten with Homemade Caramel :
The sweetness and coloring of burnt sugar (homemade caramel) does not contain gluten, and is a safe edible for celiac disease patients. The caramel is made by heating sugar or glucose with the help of small amounts of acid or alkali.

Flavor-with-Vinegar
11. Flavor with Vinegar :
As a product of apples, grapes and other foods, vinegar is a flavoring safe for celiac disease patients [3]. For example, cider vinegar is made from apples, and makes a decent ingredient for salad dressings. You can also add herbs and spices to vinegar to change their flavor.

Fruits-and-Vegetable
12. Fruits and Vegetables:
Eating lots of fruits and vegetables can avoid the constipation that a celiac disease patient may experience.

Crackers
13. Crackers :
Choose crackers and crispbreads made from rice or corn when looking for snack foods that are safe for an individual on a gluten-free diet.

Popcorn
14. Popcorn :
Since popcorn is made from corn, it is a safe food for celiac disease patients to consume.

Rice-Cakes
15. Rice Cakes :
When looking for a gluten-free snack, rice cakes fall under the category of things you can eat.

Cooked-Cereal
16. Cooked Cereal :
Replace your usual breakfast choices with cooked cereal made from corn (such as hominy and grits), rice, pure buckwheat or quinoa.

Gluten-free-Food
17. Become Aware of Hidden Gluten in Food :
Celiac disease patients have to become wizards at deciphering food labels and spotting potential dietary pitfalls. Gluten can hide in your favorite foods when you least expect it. For example, the coating on breaded chicken cutlets contains gluten. Processing agents used for dry roasted nuts may contain wheat flour or flavorings. Celiac disease patients cannot eat French fries that have been coated in flour. Even the soy sauce in Chinese food may be fermented with wheat.

Symptoms of Celiac Disease

Individuals diagnosed with celiac disease need to avoid any foods that have gluten in them. Always read the labels on packaged foods and avoid foods such as wheat, barley, semolina and rye. Foods like bread, cakes, cookies, cereals, crackers, beer, oats, pastas, luncheon meats, salad dressings, soups and sauces should also be avoided unless they are specifically labeled as gluten-free. It also helps to check the labels to find out if the food product has been made in a facility that is free of any gluten-containing product. Grains such as oats may sometimes undergo contamination due to exposure to wheat while they are being grown and processed. Even though it is not known for certain if oats cause damage to individuals with celiac disease, doctors generally advise patients to avoid eating them unless they are known to be gluten-free. A gluten-free diet can still contain many basic foods such as corn, buckwheat, rice, quinoa, cornmeal, arrowroot, tapioca and amaranth. Even with these foods, it is advisable to check the food labels. Other foods that can be safely included in a gluten-free diet include fruits, dairy products, fish, poultry, potatoes, rice, vegetables and wine. Some individuals may find it difficult to exclude breads and pastas from the diet. Fortunately for them there are some gluten-free breads and pastas available in the market today. With proper research, it is possible to find healthy substitutes for many gluten foods.